Trail Article Highlights Chloe Ivy-Curwen’s Interdisciplinary Approach to Art and Philosophy

Sophomore Chloe Ivy-Curwen was chosen as The Trail’s “Artist of the Issue” and was interviewed about their art and artistic background. Chloe is a double major in Art and Philosophy with a minor in Bioethics, and their preferred artistic medium is gouache paint.

One question that the interviewer asked was about how Chloe’s broad range of academic pursuits intersect with each other. Here is their response:

I’ve been extremely passionate about ethics and philosophy since taking a philosophy class in high school, but again, I hadn’t found a way to overlap these interests until I took classes here. I’ve been really interested in the need for art in life and/or society, and also the new problems that Artificial Intelligence has been creating for art making. Last semester, I took a class on philosophy of mind, where we learned a little about A.I. “art”, and this is something I would love to continue studying, or at least the philosophy behind creativity and art.

Chloe also talks in the interview about their dad and how he inspired them to pursue art, as both he and his father are artists as well. They also describe their favorite art-piece they’ve done, and what they are currently working on.

Read the whole interview here!

“Bite Me!” by Chloe Ivy-Curwen

Leave a comment