Senior Interviews — Erland Cain ’21

In recent years, the Department of Philosophy has interviewed alumni and graduating seniors about their experiences as philosophy majors, how philosophy has prepared them for post-graduation, and what advice they have for current students (you can find some of those interviews here and here.) This year in an effort to recognize our graduating seniors in the midst of the pandemic, we are expanding the number of senior interviews. For this post, we interviewed Erland Cain ’21. Graduating with a major in Philosophy and a minor in African American Studies, Erland is currently applying to graduate programs in Library and Information Science.

How did you get interested in philosophy in the first place?

Reading Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder in High School was probably what got me seriously interested. The work is an exciting union between philosophical history and fiction, and it introduced me to the wide range of philosophical movements and figures.

Is there an area of philosophy that interests you the most?

I generally enjoy reading Scottish Common-Sense Philosophy, especially Thomas Reid’s critiques of the metaphysical systems of Early Modern philosophy. Recently, I have been interested in Arthur Schopenhauer’s essays.

What about this area is interesting to you?

Schopenhauer comes across to some as a contemptuous misanthrope, but he has sensitive qualities. I find his theory of humor convincing; I find his reflections on suffering compelling; and I find his compassion for animals righteous.

Has your study of philosophy informed your day to day life or how you make decisions?

I would hope that the critical thinking skills that I have developed will help me to engage more thoughtfully in civic responsibilities.

What was your favorite philosophy class?

Three-way tie between Ancient Greek philosophy, 19th Century philosophy, and the Philosophy of Science.

How has your minor shaped your philosophical studies and vice versa?

My African American studies courses have helped me to reflect critically on the history of philosophy. My AFAM courses left me eager to seek out philosophy from outside the Western canon and to acknowledge the extent to which this canon was influenced by non-Western thought.
By taking Social and Political Philosophy, I had the chance to familiarize myself with theories that I would later encounter in AFAM courses.

When and why did you ultimately decide to become a philosophy major?

In my first year. I never seriously considered studying anything else. I knew that if I ever changed my mind, the knowledge and inspiration that I would develop in philosophy would be applicable to a wide range of disciplines.

How did your parents and strangers react when you told them you were a philosophy major?

My parents are always supportive. I rarely tell strangers because I mostly know what their opinion is – and I do not want to hear it anymore.

Do you have a particular memory as a philosophy major at Puget Sound that stands out to you?

I distinctly remember purchasing my books during my first year. I was delighted to know that I would be reading many primary sources, rather than bloated textbooks.

Do you have any advice for current philosophy students?

I would advise any student to become familiar with the library’s online resources. When it comes to research projects especially, I have found that being able to explore a range of academic sources is a valuable skill.

Any final thoughts?

I am grateful for the talented philosophy faculty at UPS. I only wish that I could have taken more classes with them!​

Leave a comment