Implicit Stereotypes and Racism with Professor Protasi

“And it doesn’t even stop at race: I have become aware of many other forms of discrimination, over the years, and that has greatly increased my capacity at catching myself being implicitly homophobic or transphobic, fattist, ableist, and so forth. But, in fact, it seems to have only increased my awareness, not my ability to be less biased.” 

Puget Sound Philosophy Professor Sara Protasi writes about implicit racist behavior and uses an ancient metaphor from the Buddhist tradition to compare and examine how we can change these tendencies in her essay in The Prindle Post: So I am a racist: What do I do now?

Leave a Reply

